Who in, in your life, do you appreciate? Who has mentored you? Who has spoken important words into your life? Who influenced you in a positive way? Who do you see on a regular basis that brings joy into your life? Who do you see that works hard to be a good influence to others?

Is there someone or a few people that touched you. People you will always remember. I remember Coach Williams who was so inspriational to me in High School. When other teachers were shooting me down and telling me I wasn’t good enough, he was one of the few teachers who said that I could be more, that I could do more. He challeneged my idea that I wasn’t smart enough to go to college. He inspired me to travel and live my life. LIVE it. Those words always stuck with me.

I also have people in my daily life who inspire me; the school nurse who goes above and beyond to make sure kids have what they need, kids whose families can’t provide some basics. The school secretary who makes sure the new families at the school feel welcomed on the first day at school even if she has plenty of work to do, she takes that time. The cashier at Sprouts who checks me out and remembers my name and always has a smile on her face (i stand in her line even if there is someone there and there is no one waiting at the other lines). The pharmacist who takes time to really listen to me and who makes recommendations that don’t make him any money but he cares that his patients are well. My list is endless.

It’s great to appreciate people, to recognize what they do and what it is about them, how they uniquely contribute. NOT only is it important for us to notice these contributers to our lives but even more so, it’s important to acknowledge that. When is the last time you told the piano player at your church “hey, the music sounds great every Sunday, I appreciate all that you put into it” or when is the last time you told that cashier “I enjoy coming through your line every time I come here and seeing your smiling face” or when is the last time you told that teacher “thanks for being such a great influence in my life”?

Being grateful has 2 parts, there’s the being grateful, and there’s the expression of that. This year I have made a concious effort to let those people know how much they mean to me and how important they are to me. I have started noticing even more people who contribute to my life and to the lives of my family members and friends.

I challenge you to tell at least one person a day how much they contribute to your life. Call them, tell them the next time you see them, write to them, do what it takes to make sure they know.

I offer you 2 free cards to send from my website to anyone in your life that you wish to express gratitude toward. My site is on my home page under my blog roll. They are free with no strings attached, it’s just important to me that you acknowledge those people in your life.

Have a fabulous day!

