As I drove home today on the busy highway, I focused less on hurrying to get back home and more on the people on the side of the road. I used to rush to get home and zip up the right hand lane, scowling at those “in my way”. As I have realized…… that I need to practice what I preach, as in, it’s not for the government to help people in need, but us individuals, groups, organizations, I decided to drive in the far right lane to look for people on the side of the road in need of help.

As I got off the exit ramp, I spotted a woman who had her van pulled over so I opened my window and asked “need help?”. Turns out, she ran out of gas so I offered to drive her to a gas station. As I spoke with her and started getting her story, I found out that she didn’t have cash on her to get gas so I stopped by my house to ask my neighbor for a gas can. He had one that was half full so we went to her car, filled it up and I gave her a few bucks to get to the gas station and get a bit of fuel to get back.

Had I not looked for the opportunity to serve someone today, I wouldn’t have found it. I’m not patting myself on the back or looking to check off my good deed of the day, I simply wanted to let another human know they were valuable to me. I tell my story in hopes that I might inspire others to look for these same opportunities.

Oh and the woman I picked up, was going to garage sales to pick up items needed by her neighbors and friends who didn’t have things they needed. She was also looking for opportunities to assist others.

